Other places to be visited in Comminges
Romanic churches of the country of Luchon
Numerous Romanic churches of XIth and XIIth centuries are to be visited in valleys of Larboust and Oueil: churches of the villages of Saint-Aventin, Benque-Dessus and Benque-Dessous, Billière, Cazeaux de Larboust, Garin.
Luchon Tourist office : 05 61 79 21 21
Castle of Valmirande in Montréjeau
Valmirande Castle Park (41ha), listed park
Over 180 species of trees and shrubs
French garden, Arboretum
Valmirande Castle built by Baron Bertrand de Lassus was created ex nihilo in the late nineteenth century. In 1892 he acquired 10 parcels of land in one piece, with an area of approximately 41 hectares, in order to implement the castle surrounded by a landscaped park.
The design of the castle was given to Louis Garros, architect of Bordeaux. For the park, he appealed to Bülher brothers, who made the Parc de la Tete d'Or in Lyon, Marseille Borély Park, the property of Talleyrand Park Valencay and Bordeaux among others.
In 1912, the landscape architect Edouard André was inserted two beds: one north, one south of the castle from which to discover the views of the Pyrenees mountains beyond the valley of the Neste and Saint-Bertrand Comminges.
Guided tours by appointment for groups
Tourist office 05 62 00 79 55
Chapel Miegecoste in Aspet
Miègecoste called because of its situation "halfway", we know that already in the fifteenth century, people came on pilgrimage from all around.
Tourist Office of Canton Aspet: 05 61 94 86 51
Castle of Montespan
Between Saint-Gaudens and Saint-Martory, you can see on the right bank of the Garonne, the remains of an old feudal castle. These ruins are those of the castle of Montespan, former head of a barony of the same name and stronghold of the house of Spain. Originally from the Hautes-Pyrenees (Louron valley), the family of Spain became famous in the struggles that liberated the country of four valleys of the Saracen invasions and participated in the crusades of King Louis-St.
Free visit all year round. Is not accessible to disabled people.
Tourist Office Salies-du-Salat: 05 61 90 53 93
Abbey of Bonnefont in Proupiary
Founded in 1136 by monks from Morimond in the heart of the ancient county of Comminges. It's time the monks pioneers, farmers and pastoralists. After some initial difficulties, the abbey prosperous and rayon.
In the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries the abbots of Bonnefont based directly or indirectly, the current common Mazères, Carbon, Lestelle, Boussens, Plaisance du Touch, Beauchalot ... Pope Clement V stays at the Abbey in January 1309.
During the Revolution, the last 7 monks dispersed, confiscation and sale of property.
In the nineteenth century: squandering of architectural elements and systematic demolition of lime for use on site. The building of the lay, the only survivor with the gatehouse, is the main body of a farm.
In the twentieth century, clearing, excavation, re-roofing and development of the site, reconstruction of the basin of the monks.
Tourist Office of Canton of St. Martory: 05 61 97 40 48
L'Isle en Dodon : village strengthened by the XI century
Guided tours of downtown and its main building in July and August
Tourist Office in The Isle Dodon: 05 61 79 43 69 or 09 61 07 64 37
Earthenware factories of Martres-Tolosane
Visit the interpretive center Angonia Heritage Martres, and workshops for potters.
Tourist Office Martres Tolosane: 05 61 98 66 41
Museum of the treasure in Saint-Béat
Discover the museum of sacred art.
Saint-Beat Tourist office : 05 61 79 45 98
Palace of the bishops of Comminges in Alan
Palace of the XIII, XV and XVIII centuries. Gate of the cow ( MH)
To see also to Alan : Notre-Dame de Lorette, the ancient hospital of the XVIIIè century
Aurignac Tourist office : 05 61 98 70 06